Kodi with tvaddons

This really is Future of television Open source entertainment

I am not a fan of news and television programs broadcasted in India so my tv was just lying there never being used. I had a spare CPU connected with tv but it wasn’t used extensively. You can watch movies tv-series on your laptop so why bother.

I was thinking about buying chromecast but wasn’t sure how helpful it is another option was Teewe. There are so many from chinese vendors (Allcast, MiraScreen, Anycast etc). I was weighing on which one to buy then I realize that I have a spare board which I ordered sometime back on aliexpress when I was experimenting with raspberry pi/cubieboard/beaglebone/odroid.

The board name is not important as you can use any of the boards you will find someway to run kodi. I realized there is a android lollipop image available for that board. Just took the micro-sdcard from my camera and flashed the image. It was okay fast. Downloaded some apps like netflix, hotstar, gaana, wynk music, google drive, one drive, youtube, tvf, Kodi etc. The option would have been to use Open-elec. That will be faster but android suited my purpose it had a familiar interface for everyone. Open-elec may scare some new friend using the television.

I was thinking of signing into netflix then I realized let me first try Kodi. I saw some youtube videos on how to add addons on kodi and boom. It was so simple to setup everything. with tvaddons my simple plain board which was useless has made my tv a smart useful piece of entertainment system. I can watch any movie, tv -series in no time. You name it and it is there. I tried some recently released movies and it is there.

No torrent required no wait for download etc. anyway now torrent sites are getting banned in India this will also get blocked someday but for now enjoy streaming from putlocker. primewire, alluc etc.

There is one more service which I liked most it is called Trakt.tv. This is really cool service for movies and tv-series watchlist. It is better than IMDB for this particular service. Since you can directly configure it with Kodi it will keep tracking what you are watching just like last.fm for movies/tv-series.
I like the web interface and the data they show. Example:

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 10.48.02 PM.png

 

Even better:

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 10.49.28 PM.png

Trakt.tv may be a cancer for privacy and for pirate users as the data is synced on their server and can be used/shared. Technically you can make your profile private by checking the box in your profile settings page.

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 10.51.46 PM.png

If you open a movie or tv-series page you will get lot more user insight:

Screen Shot 2017-01-05 at 10.59.08 PM.png

I generally used Exodus and for most of the time I am just satisfied with the service. I have other addons but I never feel any need to use them.

 

 

Leave a Reply

